Dummies guide : hiking backpacks

I’m finally investing in a proper 5-day backpack.

Why get a pack? I’ve always maintained that I’m fine hiking with my regular old student backpack – the price of hiking packs being too steep for my liking – but having done over 10 hikes in the past 2 years and tried out AD’s daypack, I’ve surrendered and come to appreciate the value of having a good pack. Note: AD has an Osprey Escapist 25L (day hikes) and an Atmos 50L (multiday hikes) – the female version is called Aura.

PART 1: RESEARCH THE BASICS Packs can be expensive it’s good to do some basic research before braving the stores. As expected the internet is filled with information on the topic. I’ve summarised what I think is useful in this post.

MAIN CRITERIA Considering the criteria below will give you some theoretical idea of what you might want from your hiking bag (theoretical because once you go to the store and try on some bags your priorities / preferences may change).

  • Size / Capacity (for weekend 35-50L, multiday 50-70L – note for onboard baggage on flights, generally you want 45L or less)
  • Framing – no frame / internal / external
    It’s most common to find bags with internal frame nowadays as it’s lighter. Frames aim to transfer weight from shoulders to your hips. Having tried AD’s Osprey Escapist before it definitely makes a difference – a hip belt is a must for me!
  • Access – top loading / panel
    I was less bothered about this. I thought I would just get used to whichever I get.
  • Other considerations – pockets (side bottle pocket and easy outer sleeve to put in tissue packs are really handy), cushioning on straps, sleeping bag compartment (at bottom – handy but not a must), rain cover (v handy on wet hikes)
  • Weight of bag – I didn’t want to get a bag that was too heavy as I do get lower back pain. Also the advice is to carry no more than 20-25% of your weight in the pack.

Note: Women’s packs tend to have narrower frames (adjusted as women tend to have narrower shoulders) but there’s no need to stick to just gender specific models and you should choose a bag that fits your body frame e.g. some women use men’s models (and vice versa) and some petite women happily use models made for teenager boys.

PART 2: VISIT A STORE – TRY & BUY

Visit an outdoor store to try on a few bags. Reviews online help but as for the right fit you really do have to try them on and most outdoor stores will have staff to measure your torso, do a proper bag fitting and explain the features. The same model and capacity (specified in litres) can come in different sizes e.g. XS-S or S-M

As I’m currently in Tokyo I visited Kojitusanso Ikebukuro 好日山荘 池袋西口店 with a view to visit the L-Breathe store nearby and compare the prices online before the ultimate purchase. The store staff was so helpful (despite our poor language exchange in mixed English and Japanese) that I tried on several bags at the first store and just purchased from them – online was around JPY 3,000 cheaper but I was happy to pay the extra for the support I got! The staff was in his early 50s, used to guide groups in Alaska for 20+ years and still does some guiding in Japan so was knowledgeable..

LIST OF BRANDS CONSIDERED with approx pre-tax prices, notes + information from the store staff (note prices will invariably differ depending on which country you’re based).

My specs are female roughly 160-165cm, 50-55kg, infrequent lower back pain (the staff will measure your torso to do a proper fitting).

  • Berghaus Women’s Explorer II 30L (JPY 8,000 on sale – usually 14,000?) – UK brand / Women’s model. Did not try – the store only had my size in mega hot pink. Apparently they could do big discounts on this brand as the store gets Berghaus products directly from the UK (other brands don’t always come straight from the country of origin)
  • Karrimor Ridge 40L (JPY 25,000) – UK brand, has very durable material (obviously much cheaper in the UK and places like sports direct had almost 50% off)
  • Osprey Kyte 36L (JPY 18,000) – US brand, well known solid brand for outdoor hiking packs. Osprey has great functional aspects to their design e.g. hiking pole holder.
    Review – the S-M was most comfortable. The back had netting for good ventilation and I liked that this bag had an outer sleeve for quick access (I like to have tissues / wet wipes in easy to reach places). The straps were padded providing comfort.
  • Osprey Sirrus 36L (JPY 19,000) – the nicest design (he most modern/sleek) and the raised netted back part looked like it would provide great ventilation.
    Review – it was the least comfortable (Store staff tried several adjustments and I tried XS-S female, S-M female, S male version but for all I could feel my shoulder blades pressing on the edge of the back. Also note the Osprey logo on the shoulder strap should be facing the front rather than on the top of your shoulders which was the case when I had on the XS-S).
  • Gregory Jade 38L (JPY 26,000) – Samsonite’s outdoor brand, has the strongest stitching.
    Review – was the most comfortable for me (though not a huge difference to the Osprey Kyte 36). Store staff

THE WINNNER Osprey Kyte 36L !
RUNNER UP Gregory Jade 38L

The Gregory Jade was a little more comfortable and generally the other specs were very similar so I chose the cheaper of the two. A small point the store staff mentioned was that when taking turns on bends the Osprey is more agile and allows of easier/quicker turning.

My first proper hiking pack – really excited to pack and use this on my trip next weekend!

SOURCES: I read the basic information on the websites linked below and watched a handful of helpful videos (below).

Leave a comment